Frequently Asked Question

A particular member/client didn't sync to QBO. How do I fix?
Last Updated 8 months ago

There are a few reasons this can happen:

  • Company name is too long - QBO only allows Company Name up to 31 characters.
    • In Deskworks, go to MEMBERS>MEMBER PROFILE.
      • In the MEMBERSHIP section, make the account INACTIVE. BE CAREFUL NOT TO MAKE THE RECURRING BILLINGS OR CO-MEMBERS INACTIVE.
      • Shorten the Company Name and SAVE.
      • In the MEMBERSHIP section, make the account ACTIVE. This will create a new account in QuickBooks.
    • Go to QBO, check if the new Customer is propagated.
  •  You have used the same Name for an admin account and a member account -
    • If you are using Member Name for the Display Name in QBO, duplication of the name is not allowed. (Deskworks requires "uniqueness" on email; QBO requires uniqueness on either Member Name or Company Name, depending on which you have set up as your Display Name in QBO.)
    • In QBO, search for the person. If it exists with no invoices, delete it.
    • In Deskworks, go to MEMBERS>MEMBER PROFILE.
      • In the MEMBERSHIP section, make the account INACTIVE. BE CAREFUL NOT TO MAKE THE RECURRING BILLINGS OR CO-MEMBERS INACTIVE.
      • Make the First or Last Name different from the name under SYSTEM>ADMINISTRATORS.
      • In the MEMBERSHIP section, make the account ACTIVE.
      • Go to QBO, check if the new Customer is propagated.
  • There is an old account in QBO from before you sync'd with Deskworks.
    • In QBO, search for the company or name. Make it inactive.
    • In Deskworks, go to MEMBERS>MEMBER PROFILE.
      • In the MEMBERSHIP section, make the account INACTIVE. BE CAREFUL NOT TO MAKE THE RECURRING BILLINGS OR CO-MEMBERS INACTIVE.
      • Then make the account ACTIVE.
      • Go to QBO, check if the new Customer is propagated.
      • In QBO, you can reactivate the older account now, if you want to be able to see any old records. There will now be two accounts for the client, but transactions from Deskworks will go to the newer account.
        • Do not merge the two accounts, as you do not know which one will be maintained, and new transactions might not flow to the right account.


Please Wait!

Please wait... it will take a second!